Clubs & Organizations

December 19, 2017

The Kishwaukee College chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) held an induction ceremony on campus on Friday, December 1.  The NSLS chapter at Kishwaukee College was established in Fall 2014.  The chapter advisors are Pernevlon Ellis and Scott Kawall.

The mission of NSLS is to help students discover and achieve their goals. The Society, founded by Gary Tuerack, emphasizes the six steps of leadership: clarification of purpose, creation of a shared vision, challenge of the status quo, inspiration of positive action, empowerment of others, and continuous improvement.  The society was founded in 2001 and currently has nearly 500,000 members at 478 colleges across the United States.

Kishwaukee College chapter officers are: Robert Whitten, Genoa, President; Ellaine Pontes, Rochelle, Vice President; Charles Gatbunton, Cortland, Membership Outreach Chair.

Members who qualified for National Engaged Leader Awards (NELA) were recognized during the ceremony. NELA members have attended additional speaker broadcasts, network team meetings and community service hours above and beyond the standard membership requirements. Receiving NELA recognitions were: Marcus Robinson, Dolton; Katherine Koca, DeKalb; Christine Newman Askins, Rochelle; and Tiffany Newman Askins, Rochelle.

The Chapter also recognized faculty and staff members at Kishwaukee College for their support of the student experience on campus. Receiving a Plaque of Recognition were the following: Excellence in Teaching – Todd West, Assistant Professor of English; Excellence in Service to Students – Scott Kawall, Director of Student Involvement, and Pernevlon Ellis, Assistant Professor of Sociology.

At the induction ceremony at Kishwaukee College, 28 students joined NSLS. Inducted into the Society in Fall 2017 were:

Cortland – Jacob Ihm, Rosemary Komes, and Felipe Moreno;

DeKalb – Sajata Ayton, Demonta Foster, Lauren Hagelstein, Ashely Rusho, Dylan Russom, Jenna Schuman, and Hampton Stephens;

Genoa – Scott Benzinger and Jenna Smith;

Joliet – Malyk Pickett;

Kingston – Edwin Yockey;

Lindenwood – Taralyn Dale and Cole Lentz;

Oregon – Maria Tranchina;

Paw Paw – William Zeman;

Rochelle – Erika Cabral, Anthony Chavez and Daniel McAnly;

Steward – Lindsey Miller;

Sycamore – Tiffani McMaster, Samuel Overlin, Emily Plauck and Victoria Ruud.

December 4, 2017

Members of the Kishwaukee College Criminal Justice Community Policing program and the HOPES Service Club decided to focus their outreach and assistance to local youth and even created a new student group on campus called All For The Kids. This fall, All For The Kids held two bake sale events at the College to raise money for the DeKalb County Youth Services Bureau. On Tuesday, November 28, the group presented a check for $750 to Youth Service Bureau Clinical Director Raya Newman. Newman stated the funding will be used to assist participating families for the holiday season. The donation represented the largest amount raised by any group in the history of the Community Policing Program. Pictured presenting the check are, front row, L to R: Dr. Laurie Borowicz, President of Kishwaukee College; Shantal Howlett, Rochelle; Catherine Camacho, DeKalb; Victoria Rodriguez, Rochelle; Richard Rojas, DeKalb; Raya Newman, Clinical Director, DeKalb County Youth Services Bureau; and Trevor VanUs, Sycamore. Back row: Zachary Dodson, Sycamore; Kevin Smith, Chicago; Jaynan Harper, Chicago; Colton Beaird, Lindenwood; Dave Dammon, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice; and Arron Atkinson, DeKalb.

October 23, 2015

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed new members this fall at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in the College’s Jenkins Auditorium on October 14. The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Ian Kidd, Co-President; Argyle O’Leary, Co-President; Hailey Hopkins, Recording Officer; Chelsea Erickson, Public Relations Officer; and Allison Kozinski, Hallmark Officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisors are Laura Chiavini and Allison Von Ende.

During the ceremony, inductees and their families and friends enjoyed a guitar performance by Tim Lockman. The Key Note Speaker was Chase Budziak, Communications instructor and Director of the Speech and Debate Team at Kishwaukee College.

After the ceremony was completed, inductees, families and friends enjoyed light refreshments in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Dining Room.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, is the largest honor society in higher education. Founded in 1918, there are now 1,285 Phi Theta Kappa chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, and other countries around the world. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually. The society offers opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment, and personal development through programs based on the society’s hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of college level course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on  4.0 scale. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college. 

The following Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in this prestigious organization for Fall 2015:

DeKalb: Janini Avalos, Casey Lothson, Brisa Martinez, Tia McMaster, Steven Morlan, Cheyenne Remington

Genoa: Daniel Hansen

Hampshire: Brian Stuehler

Maywood: Jada Coleman

Oregon: Bayley Kirchner

Rochelle: Alejandra Herrera, Morgan Miller, Jocelyn Ortiz

Steward: Abigail Gould

Sycamore: Debra Byrd, Myrna Guerrero, Damon Massier, Madison Schap, Kortne Shott, Michelle Turcios, and Keara Winters.