December 19, 2017

NSLS chapter induction ceremony

The Kishwaukee College chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) held an induction ceremony on campus on Friday, December 1.  The NSLS chapter at Kishwaukee College was established in Fall 2014.  The chapter advisors are Pernevlon Ellis and Scott Kawall.

The mission of NSLS is to help students discover and achieve their goals. The Society, founded by Gary Tuerack, emphasizes the six steps of leadership: clarification of purpose, creation of a shared vision, challenge of the status quo, inspiration of positive action, empowerment of others, and continuous improvement.  The society was founded in 2001 and currently has nearly 500,000 members at 478 colleges across the United States.

Kishwaukee College chapter officers are: Robert Whitten, Genoa, President; Ellaine Pontes, Rochelle, Vice President; Charles Gatbunton, Cortland, Membership Outreach Chair.

Members who qualified for National Engaged Leader Awards (NELA) were recognized during the ceremony. NELA members have attended additional speaker broadcasts, network team meetings and community service hours above and beyond the standard membership requirements. Receiving NELA recognitions were: Marcus Robinson, Dolton; Katherine Koca, DeKalb; Christine Newman Askins, Rochelle; and Tiffany Newman Askins, Rochelle.

The Chapter also recognized faculty and staff members at Kishwaukee College for their support of the student experience on campus. Receiving a Plaque of Recognition were the following: Excellence in Teaching – Todd West, Assistant Professor of English; Excellence in Service to Students – Scott Kawall, Director of Student Involvement, and Pernevlon Ellis, Assistant Professor of Sociology.

At the induction ceremony at Kishwaukee College, 28 students joined NSLS. Inducted into the Society in Fall 2017 were:

Cortland – Jacob Ihm, Rosemary Komes, and Felipe Moreno;

DeKalb – Sajata Ayton, Demonta Foster, Lauren Hagelstein, Ashely Rusho, Dylan Russom, Jenna Schuman, and Hampton Stephens;

Genoa – Scott Benzinger and Jenna Smith;

Joliet – Malyk Pickett;

Kingston – Edwin Yockey;

Lindenwood – Taralyn Dale and Cole Lentz;

Oregon – Maria Tranchina;

Paw Paw – William Zeman;

Rochelle – Erika Cabral, Anthony Chavez and Daniel McAnly;

Steward – Lindsey Miller;

Sycamore – Tiffani McMaster, Samuel Overlin, Emily Plauck and Victoria Ruud.